Skip to content

i can’t sit still

April 20, 2010

I can’t sit still.  I’m all for relaxation and taking things slow, that’s for sure, but I’m terrible at forced relaxation.  This makes getting sick an issue.  For example, let’s look at last night, an evening when I arrived home early from work due to a pestering head cold and sat down for a night of recuperation.  It was great, for about 25 minutes.  And then I stood up and walked into the kitchen and made tacos.

I love Mexican food, and I’m apt here to say that I love most traditional cuisines of the world but I’ve noticed a different pattern as of late.  Rather than pronounce a mere affection for Italian food, or Mexican, Indian and Thai food, I’ve finally refined my own taste memories and feel comfortable saying that there’s nothing I like more to cook than a simple dish of fresh ingredients, seasoned lightly, with few steps involved beyond chopping, mixing and cooking over fire or over the stove.  My breakfast of choice says it best: a slice of country wheat, toasted, with a small chopped tomato and a slim pool of olive oil, pepper and grated parmegiano-reggiano to dip into.  Some of this may be a lack of extravagant culinary skills, but I prefer to think that with all the fresh produce, meat, fish, bread and poultry out there, there’s little need to spend your whole night prepping when you’ve only got so much time.  On the weekends, I’m thrilled to spend a day planning that night’s meal, but during the week I’ll take seasonal vegetables, a bit of fresh fish or meat, and some rice or potatoes nearly anytime.

Sometimes I am two people. Johnny is the nice one. Cash causes all the trouble. They fight.

– Johnny Cash

No. 259: 4/19/2010


No. 260: 4/18/2010


No. 261: 4/17/2010


No. 262: 4/16/2010


No. 263: 4/15/2010


2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 3:12 pm

    Simple, fresh food is sooo good. These are good thoughts indeed. I have to ask…is that your new bike? The white is awesome!

  2. April 21, 2010 7:49 am

    that would be the new bike. it’s fantastic..

Leave a Reply

