Skip to content

lomo

March 9, 2010

The weather has finally begun to turn for the warmer, although we are likely to get another snow storm still before we can call it spring.  I was able to get out on Saturday for about 6 hours in the sunshine, wandering the city and checking out some neighborhoods I don’t get to much.  The good weather brings revival, and with it exciting things: baseball, green parks, the lakefront, afternoon beers on the patio, waiting for a bus without tightening all your back muscles.

Spring gets you thinking about all the things you’d like to do and haven’t been able to over the last few months.  Here are 3 things I have planned for the upcoming spring:

1) Purchase a new film camera
2) Start a rooftop garden
3) Rework my bike or buy a new one and get out of town more to use it

I’m approaching a small milestone for Juxtaposition, which is climbing down into the 200s for days left in this year’s photography.  I wrestle at times with which direction I want to take this space.  While pleased with the first couple months’ worth of postings, there are many things I’d like to continue working on; specifically, I want to improve my photography and make pictures that capture a feeling more than many of my current photos do.  As the Dorothea Lange quote below can attest to, photography has a way of opening your eyes up to all sorts of things you previously couldn’t see.  I want to work on capturing those images and moods in a more authentic way.  And while I consider this blog a space dedicated equally to words and photos, I’m much more comfortable as a writer than a photographer.  I dig, big-time, feeling uncomfortable, so I’m going to work on taking more risks as a photographer; the words seem to fall into place more naturally.

The photo of the bags of coffee below was taken at Intelligentsia Coffee, a Chicago coffee producer with several cafes in the city.  It’s one of the finest coffee products in the country and is worth a taste – they’ll ship beans anywhere.

Here’s a great Bob Dylan song with a mouthful of words.

No. 302: 3/7/2010


While there is perhaps a province in which the photograph
can tell us nothing more than what we see with our own eyes,
there is another in which it proves to us how little our eyes
permit us to see.

– Dorothea Lange

Nos. 303: 3/6/2010




I always tell people I want to live to be 150 and they say why would
you want to do that. I say, well there’s a few people I haven’t made
mad yet, I want to get them.

– Mike Ditka


Nos. 304: 3/5/2010

There’s something wonderful about a late night dinner, when no
reservations are needed.  The intimacy.  The company of insiders.
The spontaneous swapping of stories and seats at the table.  The
impromptu pleasure of lingering over a meal long after the day
players have gone to bed.

– Grey Goose vodka advertisement, pulled from Vanity Fair

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 12:51 pm

    Have you bought the Diana camera ?

    • March 11, 2010 9:05 pm

      Nope, not yet. But I think I will buy it or a Pentax soon..

Leave a Reply

